An Overview of Kosher Foods And Its Options

In recent years, there is a rising trend of including vegan and Kosher foods in the diet to stay healthy and energetic. Mainly from the perspective of consuming low fat and good quality food products, several fitness enthusiastic people like to switch to a Kosher diet.

But many of you come across this question in mind, what exactly is kosher food? How is it different from the normal diet that you consume? And, what all food options are in the Kosher diet?

In this short guide, you will get all the answers to your questions related to Kosher food.

So, let’s get started on the same.

What is Kosher Food?

Kosher food is any food or beverage which is being consumed as per the strict Jewish dietary laws to stay fit and healthy. In the Jewish tradition, there is an eating law called, “Kashrut”, which is diligently followed in the religion.

According to Kashrut laws, there are certain categories of food that fall under the Kosher diet and some are not. Also, not just food items only, there has to be as a strict way of preparing, processing, and cooking the meal according to such Kosher food guidelines.

Mainly Kosher food is being consumed for the purpose of staying healthy and fit. The ultimate aim of such Jewish dietary guidelines is to remain energetic and do not fall for unhealthy eating habits. Especially, when you have several nutritious foods and healthy tasty snacks options available at the marketplace

How Kosher Food Law Started?

The term Kosher simply means pure, proper, or suitable for consumption. It is a Hebrew word with having its other name as, “Kasher”. This particular dietary law started all the way back in the early centuries and is considered to be the first food law on record.

Kosher is guided by the general principles which are mentioned in the Torah (a kind of Jewish Bible). In the religious textbook, it has commandments called mitzvahs i.e., to obey the Almighty and Kosher is one of the principles of the highest deity.

So, for all these years, nothing has been changed in the healthy eating guidelines of Kosher. And, it is not just meant for Jewish people but also non-Jewish people can follow the same without facing any hassle.

Multiple Vegan Kosher Food Options to Include in Diet

As per the Kosher food guidelines, not all food products come under this category. Kosher food mainly includes plant-based (pareve), certain dairy, and selected meat only.

But over here, we are focussing more on following a healthy and guilt-free 100% vegan diet to stay on a healthy spree. Thus, keeping Kosher food guidelines in place, we recommend you several plant-based food options to include in your diet.

1. Bread

Bread has been considered as the most staple Kosher food product for people to consume on a daily basis. But not all bread come under the certification of Kosher. There are a few terms and conditions that are as follows:

  • If the bread contains animal-based oil or shortening, then it is not considered Kosher.
  • It is a mandatory affair that bread must contain plant-based oil in the process of its making.
  • In case the baking pans or other equipment is greased with animal-based fats, then also the bread does not fall under the Kosher food category.
  • It is relevant to take a close look at the Kosher verified symbol in the form of, “K”, or “U” on the packet of bread before buying the same.

2. Fruits & Vegetables

Similar to bread, not all fruits and vegetables fall under the Kosher food category, if they are processed using the insect insertion. Therefore, it is imperative to check the relevancy of fruits and veggies with having no insects inside and term them as Kosher verified food products.

All categories of naturally growing fruits & veggies are part of the Kosher food category. It includes potatoes, herbs, spinach, tomato, green plantains, sweet banana, cabbage, carrot, onion beetroot, garlic, cilantro, and various others.

3. Nuts, Seeds & Oils

All types of naturally producing seeds and nuts along with oil made out of the same are all Kosher verified food products. You can include anything like that in your daily diet to stay healthy and fulfilling from the inside. Several options like almonds, cashews, pistachios, sunflower seeds, quinoa pops, walnuts, air-dried coriander seeds, black sesame seeds, brazil nuts, flax seeds, and others come under the Kosher verified nuts and seeds.

What you Should Avoid?

Apart from looking at the best vegan food sources available for you to follow a Kosher diet. It is also imperative to avoid several foods that are not kosher and not even vegan.

  • Stay away from seafood, if you have turned vegan or are soon to adopt that eating lifestyle.
  • Meat should not be included in your diet.
  • Not to consider the insects as well that do not fall under the vegan along with Kosher foods category.

Take Away

Now, a Kosher diet must be clear to you, along with several food options to include in your meal plan. Follow a kosher diet to stay healthy and guilt-free. Consume anything from the list and fulfil your desire as well.

To help you follow the strict yet fulfilling kosher diet, Ojas Vegan is here to offer healthy snacking options. With products like plantain tostones and popped quinoa, you can prepare several high protein meals for the day and stay energetic.

Frequently Asked Question

1. Is Kosher Diet Strictly for Jewish People?

No, the kosher diet does not just confine to the likes of Jewish people only. Anyone who has turned vegan or is willing to become the one can include Kosher foods in their diet to extend their meal options.

2. Can Kosher Food be Vegan?

Yes, the plant-based food products that fall under the category of Kosher are vegan and can be easily implemented in your daily meal plan.

3. How to Check Whether the Food Product of Kosher Verified or Not?

To check the status of Kosher products, all you have to do is check the certification in the form of a letter, “K”, or “U” on the packet of food material.